If you have an Advanced Apple Search Ads Account, you can see a variety of performance metrics on your campaign’s dashboard. You can also see metrics for Ad Groups and Keywords. You can filter by any of the following data:
- Avg CPA (cost-per-acquisition)
- Avg CPM (cost-per-thousand-impressions)
- Avg CPT (cost-per-tap)
- TTR (tap-through rate)
- New downloads
Your campaign dashboard also shows other important things like daily cap and budget, but let’s talk specifically about your metrics. Having all these metrics in one place won’t help if we don’t know what they are after all!
The journey starting with your Apple Search Ads campaign and ending with your revenue is an intricate one. Your metrics will tell you If your campaign is not performing optimally, or there are things that you can do better.
The number of times your ads were visible to users
The number of people that tapped on your ads.
This is the number of people who actually downloaded your app
This is the number of people who opened the app after downloading it. (sometimes people download apps that just sit on their phones for a while and get deleted)
These are things like subscriptions, in-app purchases, and so on.
Once we understand what each metric means we can use them in order to make sure that we can understand which phase of the funnels are not performing adequately. This way we can make sure that we correct what can be corrected at that step.
What is the Difference between ROAS and ROI?
What is ROAS in app marketing? What is ROI in mobile marketing? What is the Difference between ROAS and ROI?
Aside from subscriptions, your user may also purchase an in-game currency, or upgrade their game to an ad-free version.
In the case that you have multiple in-app purchase amounts to choose from, you might find it hard to directly calculate a CPA.
How do I calculate ROAS and ROI?
Return on Ad Spend or, ROAS, is the money you make from an ad campaign per amount spent on advertising. The Return on Ad Spend formula is:
ROAS = Revenue / Ad Spend x 100%
ROAS refers to the performance of a specific marketing channel, while ROI measures overall marketing performance. ROAS will always show you a positive number, while ROI can be negative.
Here’s a formula to calculate ROI:
ROI = Profit / Spend x 100% = (Revenue – Spend) / Spend x 100%
ROI = ($120 – $100) / $100 x 100% = 20%
And here’s how ROI measures up against ROAS:
ROI = ROAS – 100% = 120% – 100% = 20%
CPT is a cost model where you pay for every tap on your ad. Your CPT is calculated by dividing your total spend by the number of impressions you received.
When bidding, you will set your max CPT per ad group or in the keyword level. You will never pay more than what you set as your max CPT, but you might still win bids by paying less than the max CPT you set.
If your campaigns are not getting as many impressions as you would like, or if you are unable to spend your budget, increasing your CPT can help fix the situation. By using automation rules, you can make this process much faster and efficient.
Tap-Through Rate can tell you the ratio of people who tap on your ad after viewing it. It is calculated by dividing the number of taps by the number of impressions you received.
Your TTR is also important because it can impact how the algorithm considers your app. Low TTR’s can cause your ads to be considered as irrelevant, making it harder for you to win bids.
To make sure that your TTR is at a healthy level, you can prioritize keywords that are relevant to your app. This way you can present your apps to the most promising audience.
What is Conversion Rate (CR)
Conversion rate will show you how healthy your product page is. You are paying per tap. However, if these taps are not turning into installs, you will not be able to generate any revenue.
Conversion Rate = Installs / Taps
To increase this ratio, you have to make sure that your product page is convincing the users. First of all, by using proper creative assets you can make a visual impact on the visitors’ decision-making process.
Additionally, Apple Search Ads also allows marketers to use Creative Sets. By using Creative Sets, you can serve appropriate text and visual combinations to the right audience. For example, a shopping app can serve content based on the sex of the user.
CPA can be considered the end-result for your efforts and one of the most important Apple Search Ads metrics. In a way, it is affected by the Tap-Through rate, the Conversion Rate and your CPT. Any weaknesses during your user acquisition process can end up increasing your acquisition costs.
That is why you should think about the reasons that cause your CPA to increase or decrease and conduct optimization as necessary.
So, what is CPG in mobile marketing? CPG or Cost-Per Goal is the average cost of any in-app purchases, subscriptions, free trials and so on. Like we said before, an action is any time your user makes an in-app purchase or registers for anything that will lead to a purchase.
So, your CPG will be the average cost of one of these conversion actions being performed by users. This cost should be lower than the revenue generated from this action.
Knowing this, if you want to calculate your CPG, you should divide the overall spend on your side by the number of target actions performed by users.
CPG = Spend / Goal
Because not every install generates the same revenue for your app (if you adopt in-app monetization), CPG can be a more comprehensive metric to evaluate the performance of your campaign.
Optimizing mobile advertising metrics with SearchAds.com
Okay, so this isn’t a metric but with so many metrics to track, you might be looking for a way to save time and optimize your process.
SearchAds.com lets you track all your Apple Search Ads metrics on one platform and allows you to make bulk actions to adjust your performance on any level of the Apple Search Ads funnel. If you found this guide helpful and would like more information or want to manage your campaign more efficiently today, get started for free!